framework — investigation, planning, scheduling and implementation — to ensure, as far as possible, that programs are phased and co-ordinated to maximize the benefits of conversion while minimizing the costs.

In the field of public education, activities include the distribution of pamphlets and brochures, the development of an extensive colour transparency library, the establishment of a Speakers' Bureau to provide speech material to interested organizations, exhibits for trade fairs and shows, and the production and distribution of documentary films and TV clips in both official languages. A mailing address for the general public (Box 4000, Ottawa, Ontario) has been established to handle an increasing number of requests for information on metric conversion in Canada.

Ministry of State for Science and Technology. This Ministry was established by Order in Council PC 1971-1695 on August 11, 1971, with the primary purpose of formulating and developing policies in relation to the activities of the Government of Canada that affect the development and application of science and technology. It is organized into three operational branches: Program Review and Assessment, Policy, and Co-operation. The Minister of State for Science and Technology is also designated as the Minister for the Science Council Act, the Cabinet member to whom the Science Council of Canada reports.

Ministry of State for Urban Affairs. The Ministry was created June 30, 1971 in accordance with the Government Organization Act 1970 (SC 1971, c.42). Its mandate is to develop, research, foster and coordinate urban policies and programs. The Ministry's task is to develop the most appropriate means by which the federal government may influence the evolution of the urbanization process in Canada, to integrate urban policy with other policies and programs of the federal government, to foster co-operative relationships in the area of urban affairs with the provinces and, through them, with their municipalities and with public and private organizations. Under the direction of the Secretary and two Assistant Secretaries, the Ministry is divided into two operating wings: Policy and Research, and Co-ordination and Development. There are also two service branches: Communications; and Personnel, Finance, and Administration.

Ministry of Transport. The role and structure of the former Department of Transport were changed and a Ministry was created February 17, 1970. The new Ministry is a corporate structure of Crown corporations, agencies and three operating administrations with varying degrees of autonomy, together with separate agencies for research, development and economic regulation. A Ministry headquarters staff supports the Minister and Deputy Minister in the functions of planning, policy formulation and assessment of program achievements in terms of the objectives of the Ministry.

The Canadian Marine Transportation Administration co-ordinates the functions of the St. Lawrence Seaway Authority, the National Harbours Board and the Marine Services components of the former Department of Transport. Its operations include management of the St. Lawrence Seaway through the St. Lawrence Seaway Authority and direct supervision of 13 harbours and other facilities through the National Harbours Board; 300 public harbours and 11 others are administered by commissions under the supervision of the Ministry. It is also responsible for aids to navigation, search and rescue, nautical and pilotage services, marine agencies, steamship inspection and the Canadian Coast Guard.

The Canadian Air Transportation Administration controls and operates Canada's airways and a number of federal airports and provides technical safety supervision of all aeronautical activities in Canadian air space. These activities are conducted through the branches of Civil Aeronautics and Construction Services, and the support branches of Corporate Planning, Finance and Personnel. The Canadian Air Transportation Administration also provides telecommunications, electronics and flight services to other components of the Ministry and to other departments and agencies.

The Canadian Surface Transportation Administration has planning, programming and co-ordinating responsibilities relating to federal participation in the development and, where appropriate, operation, of surface modes of transport. These include railways, highways, motor carriers, e.g. interprovincial trucking, ferry services, and urban transportation. The Administration maintains an interest in the emerging technology of surface transportation and its potential applications in Canada.

The Arctic Transportation Agency is responsible for developing and administering policy related to Ministry-supported transportation facilities and services in the Canadian north to further the government's national objectives there. Intermodal relationships between air, surface and marine transportation systems are a particular concern, as well as the compatibility of these systems with economic and technological growth in the North and with the needs of the residents. In this connection there is a special relationship between the Agency and the Department of Indian Affairs and Northern Development.

The Transportation Development Agency is responsible for initiating, promoting and co-ordinating transportation research and development activities, working closely with government agencies, industry and the academic community to provide a national focus for changing technology and development opportunities in the field of transportation.

The Ministry also includes Air Canada, Canadian National Railways, and Northern Transportation Company Limited. These three Crown corporations are autonomous, maintaining close consultation with the Minister to be consistent with the government's general policies in the field of transportation. The